Entrance

This house was built in the 1860s by Asa Dow who came from Chicago to go into business with D.L. Quirk. Following the death of his wife Mr. Dow sold the house to the Lambert Barnes family who lived in it for forty-seven years. (1875-1922).

The magnificent stairway, with its splendid curve, spindled bannister and sturdy newel post, was expertly carved from the wood of a butternut tree.

The stenciling, on the left of the doorway and above the door, once followed up the steps. Several rooms have stenciled borders with other unique designs. This work is found in no other structure in Ypsilanti.

220 North Huron St.
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 217-8236
© 2020 Ypsilanti Historical Society | Crafted by Prater Media

MUSEUM hours

OPEN:
Tue - Sun 2 PM to 5 PM
CLOSED:
Mon & Major Holidays

local museums

Automotive Heritage Museum
100 E Cross Street
Ypsilanti, MI 48198
Michigan Firehouse Museum
110 W Cross Street
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
Yankee Air Museum
47884 D Street
Belleville, MI 48111

MUSEUM hours

TUE - THUR 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
FRI 9 a.m. - 10 p.m.
SAT - SUN 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
MON Closed
© 2020 Ypsilanti Historical Society | Crafted by Prater Media - Hosted by HDL.com
crossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram